Login NowClose 
Sign In to wabashplaindealer.com           
Forgot Password
or if you have not registered since 8/22/18
Click Here to Create an Account

County clerk announces early voting locations and hours

BY Kaitlin Gebby - kgebby@wabashplaindealer.com

Early voting has begun for the 2019 Primary Election and the Wabash County Clerk’s Office has set the hours for visiting the polls before Election Day in May.

According to Elections and Voter Registration Deputy Clerk Teresa Ehret, county elections allow early voting daily after voter registration deadline and up to Election Day, but Indiana Law permits the clerk’s office to adjust hours for early voting for municipal elections.

Ehret said a standard and mandatory test on the county’s voting machines was conducted on Monday at the clerk’s office to ensure they work properly and tally votes accurately.

The deadline to register to vote in the primary was Monday, and Ehret said there were no notable increases in Wabash voter registration.

According to data from the last municipal election in 2015, 2,007 out of 11,334 voters made it to the polls on Primary Election Day.

Early voting will be held April 22 through Friday, April 26 from 8 a.m. to noon at the Wabash County Clerk’s Office. The clerk’s office will also be open Saturday, April 27, 8 a.m. to noon for early voting. Timbercrest Retirement in North Manchester and the Liberty Township Fire Department in LaFontaine are also open April 27 for early voting. Peabody Retirement in North Manchester will take Timbercrest’s place on the early voting schedule for Saturday, May 4. Early voting will continue Monday through Saturday at those hours and locations until Monday, May, 6.

On the ballot this primary election season are several people vying for city and town councils in Wabash and LaFontaine.

Wabash City Council, made up of seven members, has 10 Republican candidates and one Democratic candidate running in the primary. Meanwhile, Mayor Scott Long (R) is running unopposed for a second term in office.

Republican candidates Bryan Dillon, John Burnsworth, Mitch Figert and Democratic candidate Dan Townsend are running unopposed in the primary as well.

Council members Bob Greene, District 3, and Bonnie Corn, District 4, did not file for the primaries and will not be running for re-election. Both have announced their desire to retire from the board.

Republican candidates Sheryll Ulshafer and Terry Brewer Jr. are running for Greene’s former seat, and running unopposed for Corn’s former seat is Republican Susan Bonfitto.

Current council member Doug Adams (R) has applied for another term representing District 5 and is running against Jon Bouse (R) in the primaries.

In LaFontaine, Clerk Treasurer Diana Heath (R) is running unopposed while town council members Lori Brane and Jay Gillespie are up against four other Republicans, Mike Holderman, E. John Krhin III, Indie Piercy and Jeremy Waite. Voters can choose up to three of the six candidates.

North Manchester’s District 2 seat is up for grabs between current council member Republican Jim Smith and fellow party member Tony DeLaughter.

Primary Election Day is Tuesday, May 7.