Login NowClose 
Sign In to wabashplaindealer.com           
Forgot Password
or if you have not registered since 8/22/18
Click Here to Create an Account

All-Conference boys' basketball team released

LAYUP: Southwood's Dallas Holmes prepares to rise up for a layup during a game this season for the Knights.

BY JACOB RUDE - sports@wabashplaindealer.com

The Three Rivers Conference (TRC) All-Conference team was released this week with six Wabash County athletes named to the First Team.

Wabash’s trio of Trenton Daughtry, Logan Vander Velden and Elijah Vander Velden earned spots on the team after the Apaches won the conference title outright since 1946.

Daughtry led the team in scoring at 18.7 points per game while grabbing 5.2 rebounds, handing out 4.0 assists and tallying 3.3 steals per game. Logan Vander Velden established himself as a defensive difference-maker while finishing second on the team in scoring at 9.6 points per game. The senior grabbed 5.0 rebounds and added 2.2 steals per contest.

Elijah Vander Velden led the team in both rebounds at 6.3 per game and blocks at 3.5 per contest while averaging 7.5 points per contest. His 91 blocks on the season were most in the TRC, 25 more than second place. 

Southwood’s Dallas Holmes and Carson Rich each earned All-Conference honors while Manchester’s Weston Hamby was the Squires’ lone representative. Holmes led the conference in scoring at 22.1 points per game. Hamby and Rich averaged 15.6 and 14.3 points per game, respectively.

In conference play this season, Holmes averaged 21.4 points per game, leading all scorers in TRC play. Holmes finished with four 30-point games in conference play this season and also finished third in the conference in rebounding.

Rich, meanwhile, burst onto the scene in his sophomore season, undertaking point guard duties for the Knights and averaging double figures in his first season of regular varsity action.

Hamby continued excelling in his sophomore season, averaging 3.0 assists and 1.5 steals per game while connecting on 38 percent of his three-pointers on the year.

The rest of the First Team was comprised of Tippecanoe Valley’s Tanner Trippiedi and Cam Parker, Whitko’s Spencer Sroufe and Brett Sickafoose, Peru’s Daunte Majors and D.J. Fuller, North Miami’s Tristan Working, Rochester’s Brady Perez and Maconaquah’s Bryce Ward.

Earning Honorable Mention on the year were Brayden Casper of Manchester, Clayton Tomlinson of Northfield, Gabe Lloyd of Southwood, Dereck Vogel of Wabash, Chance Hagan of Maconaquah, Braxton Beall of North Miami, Kade Townsend of Peru, Kyle Reinartz of Rochester, Parkur Dalrymple of Tippecanoe Valley and Drake Lewis of Whitko.

Wabash won the TRC title on the season with an 8-1 record while Tippecanoe Valley placed second at 7-2 and Whitko and Manchester tied for third at 6-3.