Login NowClose 
Sign In to wabashplaindealer.com           
Forgot Password

Dale, Thomson named All-State honorable mention

Staff reports

A pair of Northfield girls’ basketball standouts earned Indiana Basketball Coaches Association (IBCA) All-State recognition this year.

Kelcie Thomson and Ariel Dale, both junior guards for the Norse this season, were named 2018 IBCA/Subway Underclass All-State Honorable Mention.

Dale earned the honor last season as a sophomore while Thomson is a first-time honoree.

For the Norse this season, Dale led the way in scoring with 16.7 points, 3.4 rebounds and 2.2 steals per game. She also connected on 47 three-pointers on the season, a team-high, at a 34 percent clip.

Thomson, meanwhile, earned Wabash County Player of the Year honors after averaging 13.8 points, 6.2 rebounds, 4.9 assists and 4.0 steals per game this season. Thomson also shot 51 percent from beyond the arc, going 29-for-57 in 22 games while hitting 47 percent from the field as well.

Together, Thomson and Dale led the Norse to an 18-6 record overall and an 8-1 mark in the Three Rivers Conference while capturing the first conference title since 1995.

The IBCA/Subway All-State teams are selected through a process organized by the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association.

Fifteen seniors and 15 underclass girls basketball players have earned IBCA/Subway “Supreme 15” All-State honors for 2017-18

For the fourth year, the IBCA also named Large School All-State teams (15 seniors, 15 underclass) and Small School All-State players (15 seniors, 15 underclass).

The “Supreme 15” is the top honor awarded, and players were voted to that group without regard to school size. The Large School and Small School all-state teams are secondary accolades.

In addition, 86 more seniors and 86 more underclass players were selected honorable mention all-state. The honorable mention laurels are awarded without regard to school size.

All IBCA-member head coaches have the opportunity to nominate players. A panel of 20 IBCA coaches – 16 from the current regional areas, three district representatives (one each from IHSAA Districts 1, 2 and 3) and the committee chairman – then meets to review the nominations, vote and finalize the selections.