Login NowClose 
Sign In to wabashplaindealer.com           
Forgot Password

Trexler named IBCA Player of Week

FASTBREAK: Southwood’s Peyton Trexler races downcourt for a fastbreak layup during the fourth quarter of last week’s sectional game against Lafayette Central Catholic.

Staff reports

After a stellar three-game performance in the sectional, Southwood senior Peyton Trexler earned Indiana Basketball Coaches Association/Subway Player of the Week honors.

Trexler scored 86 points in three games in the sectional while guiding the Knights to their second consecutive sectional championship.

Joining Trexler as Player of the Week honorees for Feb. 26 through March 3 were Tyler Kramer of Southwestern (Hanover) and Monroe Central’s Israel Nash.

Trexler is the winner for District 1, Nash is the recipient for District 2 and Kramer received accolades for District 3.

Averaging 28.7 points, 3.3 assists and 3.3 steals, Trexler was key in Southwood’s three wins to secure the Class A Sectional 54 title at Lafayette Central Catholic.

In the opener against Clinton Central, Trexler poured in 30 points, 28 of which were in the first half, to go along with four assists and two steals in a 97-31 win.

Against No. 11 Lafayette Central Catholic, Trexler tallied 27 points, two assists and three steals in a 70-66 win. The guard wrapped up the weekend with a 29-point, four-assist, five-steal performance in the sectional final win over Frontier, 96-42.

For the week, Trexler shot 65.4 percent from the field, 53.8 percent from beyond the arc and 91.7 percent from the line.

Kramer netted an average of 28.3 points as Southwestern (Hanover) won three times to earn a sectional title in Class 2A. Nash, meanwhile, scored 42 points to go along with six rebounds, four assists and two steals in a loss to Frankton in the Lapel Sectional.

This is the 10th season for the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association Player of the Week program.

Player of the Week winners generally are chosen each week from each of the IHSAA’s three districts. Boys’ winners will be chosen through the week following March 24.